Skip navigation

Resources for Tree Farmers

Tree Farmer Awards

We grow stewardship from the roots.

While we all do our part to conserve our nationís greatest asset, we are proud to honor individuals who go above and beyond in their commitment to responsible forest management.

National Outstanding Tree Farmers of the Year

ATFS recognizes the superior stewardship of its members through the annual Outstanding Tree Farmer of the Year recognition program. These landowners are recognized for their remarkable efforts to enhance and sustain their forests and for spreading the practice of sustainable forestry.

The National Outstanding Tree Farmer of the Year is chosen from the four regional winners at the National Tree Farmer Convention. STIHL, Inc. is the exclusive sponsor for this award and the sole lightweight outdoor power equipment provider for ATFS.

2013 - Joe Arington, Wisconsin
2012 - Walt and Barbara McPhail, South Carolina [video]
2011 - Joseph "Steve" and Janet Funk, Idaho [video]
2010 - Salem, Dianne, and Patrick Saloom, Alabama
2009 - Earl and Wanda Barrs, Georgia
2008 - Bob and Jean Cooper, North Carolina

Past National Outstanding Tree Farmers of the Year, 1976-2010 [pdf]

Regional Outstanding Tree Farmers

Every year, inspecting foresters nominate Tree Farmers whose conservation efforts, outreach efforts in the community, and advocacy for sustainable forest management exceed expectations.

ATFS State Committees select a state honoree to compete on the regional level. Regional judges select four regional winners who attend the annual National Tree Farmer Convention where they detail their sustainable forestry work during a panel discussion. The Regional Outstanding Tree Farmer of the Year is sponsored by STIHL, Inc.

John William Bembry, GA
Bill and Joan Arsenault, OR
Allen R. Yale, Jr., VT
Joe Arington, WI

Charlie Williams, KY
Mike and Vivien Fritz, VT
Bryon and Donna Loucks, WA

Putnam "Put" Blodgett, VT
Russ and Barbara Ford, MS
Walt and Donna Lange, OH

Trevor Evans, VT
Robert and Ingrid Sonnenberg, MN
Jim Cota, Robbie and Scott Melcher, OR  

Robert Woodling and Linnea Good, IN     
Ken and Lois Carpenter, CO
Thomas F. Bullock, NJ  



View Regional Tree Farmer of the Year Winners in a full screen map

National Outstanding Inspector of the Year

The Outstanding Inspector of the Year award honors an ATFS Volunteer Inspector. These individuals give their time to ATFS, as well as all of our volunteers, and perform considerable outreach efforts to educate the public and private landowners on the benefits of sustainable forestry. The honored individual is selected from four regional winners.

2013 - Jamie Knight, Oregon
2012 - John Stambaugh 
2011 - Brian Cobble, Florida
2010 - Kirk Weyman, South Carolina
2009 - Wayne Young, New Hampshire 

ATFS recognition programs are exclusively sponsored by STIHL, Inc.